It’s Been a While . . .

So, taking off a couple of months during winter has become longer than I anticipated.  I wondered what was happening?  I have a good supply of clay, lots of ideas sketched and loads of fun tools to work with.  Shouldn’t I be a little bit enthused to begin the new collection for this year?  Well?

And that’s where I am today–a definitive period of non-work because I believe I’m a little burned out.  Not in full flames, but just enough to be singed.  I know it happens (writer’s block, anyone?) but I just wish my passion was a little brighter by now.  I have been experiencing a few medical problems which have contributed to lack of energy and I’m sure my brain has taken on that same mentality.  Yep, I think I’ve become Eeyore!

open-uri20150608-27674-1tafjo_7ef154a3

I had a fabulous show in February at Unicoi State Lodge and Park, and I’ve got another show coming up in about 2 weeks.  I think I need to get moving on the collection!  Especially since most of the previous collection sold in February!

So, here’s what I’ve learned, courtesy of mind tools.com:

“While there are many causes of burnout, people are more likely to experience it when they work in a physically or emotionally demanding role, or when their efforts at work don’t produce the results that they expected.

Symptoms of burnout include depression, hopelessness, feeling overwhelmed by responsibilities and using escapist behaviors to cope.

It’s important to make the effort to recover properly from burnout. To do this, try the following strategies.

  • Think about the “why.”
  • Focus on the basics.
  • Take a good vacation or a leave of absence.
  • Reassess your goals.
  • Say “no.”

Practice positive thinking.”

Good tips to try.  Let’s see how it goes.  In the meantime, here is a fabulous tip for wearing those lobster claw bracelets!

 

 

 

Leave a comment